Geography & Facts of Nepal

The country can be divided into three different regions: the north, which is covered by the Himalaya mountain range that includes the world’s tallest peak Mt. Everest, which rises to 8,848 m (29,000 ft); the central area, consisting of the relatively low Himalayan foothills which are home to the capital Kathmandu and a fascinating variety of cultural groups; and the south, which consists of vast plains and jungle and is home to most of the country’s population.



Official Name: Kingdom of Nepal
Capital: Kathmandu
Population: Approx 26 million
Languages: Nepali is the National language but there are thought to be 20 language groups and many more dialects
Main Religions: 85% Hindu, 10% Buddhist, 3% Muslim, 2% other (Bon po, Shaman, other)
Time Zone: 5.8 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (+5.8 GMT). Daylight Saving Time is not observed.
Voltage Requirements: 220 Volts. Sockets are of the European two pronged round pin variety. Supply is erratic and power cuts are common – even in the cities.
Telephone Codes: 977, country code for Nepal; 1, city code for Kathmandu.